WOD: wed.june 19.2013: (Developing the Single Leg Squat)

19 Jun

Today’s WOD was centered around The Squat and the development of single leg squats or “pistols”. I currently cannot do them so I used a TRX for support. I developed the WOD to incorporate my current Back Squat weekly goals usuing the TRX Single Leg Squat as the accessory work. To finish off I completed 3 sets of 10 full deep back-pause squats to improve comfort and flexibility at the bottom position of the movement.

A1:Back Squat 5×5 @ 85% 1 RM

B1: TRX Single Leg Squats @ 5 x 10/leg (1:00 rest in between rounds)

C1: Deep Pause Back Squat @ 40% 1 RM  3 x 10

WHAT IS…. Deep Pause Back Squat:  I take 40% of my 1 RM and go as low as possible on the eccentric portion and pause for 1-3 seconds and explode up. Make sure your form is 110% perfect from feet to head.

HOW TO.. TRX Single Leg Squat… click HERE to see video

photo(1)

Leave a Reply

